Stoke ace through to last eight of Players Championship

There were mixed fortunes for two Stoke darts stars at the Players Championship at Butlins in Minehead.

Ian White is through to the quarter-finals, but Adrian Lewis is out after losing in a last leg decider to Michael van Gerwen.

The Dutchman hit the second nine-darter in the history of the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals during his win over Lewis on Saturday afternoon.

The Dutchman produced his own sixth perfect leg, and the first in a televised event for 12 months, as he scored 180, 177 and then finished 144 to complete a brilliant achievement.

Van Gerwen had earlier overturned a 2-1 deficit into a 4-2 lead in their second round tie, with Lewis hitting back in leg seven before the Dutchman's moment of perfect in leg eight opened up a 5-3 advantage.

Lewis battled back bravely to force a deciding leg, but Van Gerwen took out 72 to remain on course for a fifth Players Championship Finals title.

"The nine-darter is always nice," said Van Gerwen. "Adrian was pushing me and put me under pressure, so you have to do the right things at the right moments.

"It's only one leg and I've got to be better tonight, because if you give the other guys a finger they take your whole hand and you can't afford any mistakes."

Van Gerwen then came from 3-1 and 6-5 down in the third round against James Wade to reel off five straight legs in booking a quarter-final place.

"It was a good day for me," said Van Gerwen, who averaged 106 to Wade's 102 in a high-quality game.

MVG next faces Mervyn King.

As for Ian White, he reached the quarter-finals for a third time with an outstanding 107.46 average in a 10-4 defeat of Michael Smith on Saturday night, following up his narrow 6-5 win over Vincent van der Voort in round two.

"It's nice to be through," said White. "I'm playing good darts and I want to keep this going tomorrow. I had a tough game in the afternoon but everything went in for me tonight and I felt good."

White will meet William O'Connor after the Irishman - a World Cup finalist in June alongside Steve Lennon - secured his spot in the last eight of a televised singles tournament for the first time.

O'Connor was a 6-3 winner against Poland's Krzysztof Ratajski in round two, before ending the challenge of emerging German ace Gabriel Clemens with a 10-7 success.

2019 Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals

Saturday November 23

Second Round

Gerwyn Price 6-0 Keegan Brown

James Wade 6-1 Ricky Evans

Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Danny Noppert

Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Luke Woodhouse

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Adrian Lewis - Michael van Gerwen hits nine-dart finish

Chris Dobey 6-0 James Wilson

Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Joe Cullen

Rob Cross 6-4 Jamie Hughes

John Henderson 6-3 Simon Whitlock

Ryan Meikle 6-5 Darius Labanauskas

Stephen Bunting 6-3 Jose De Sousa

Ian White 6-5 Vincent van der Voort

William O'Connor 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski

Glen Durrant 6-5 Max Hopp

Mervyn King 6-4 Dave Chisnall

Michael Smith 6-4 Brendan Dolan


Third Round

Gerwyn Price 10-4 Mensur Suljovic

Michael van Gerwen 10-6 James Wade

Raymond van Barneveld 10-3 Glen Durrant

Mervyn King 10-4 Rob Cross

Stephen Bunting 10-2 Ryan Meikle

William O'Connor 10-7 Gabriel Clemens

Chris Dobey 10-5 John Henderson

Ian White 10-4 Michael Smith


Sunday November 24

Afternoon Session (1245 GMT)


Gerwyn Price v Stephen Bunting

Raymond van Barneveld v Chris Dobey

Michael van Gerwen v Mervyn King

Ian White v William O'Connor

Best of 19 legs


Evening Session (1900 GMT)


Price/Bunting v Van Barneveld/Dobey

Van Gerwen/King v White/O'Connor

Best of 21 legs




Best of 21 legs



PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final

Adam Gawlas v Luke Humphries

Best of 11 legs


More from Local Sport